Inventionland®Institute Crowns Regional Contest Winners!


Where else but Inventionland®could students come and compete in a fun, educational contest that featured a castle and knights in shining armor? What can we say, when we host an event, we like to do it in style!

Students from West Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Maryland traveled to our facility on Wednesday, May 17 to compete in the first-ever Inventionland®Institute Regional Invention Contest. An esteemed panel of judges that included Harris Jones from Adams Capital Management, Trip Oliver from Chevron, and Laura Hummell from the Pennsylvania Department of Education provided a fun and competitive atmosphere that resembled the show “Shark Tank.”

As the winners were announced by Inventionland®Founder and CEO Mr. George Davison during the closing ceremony, they paraded out of the castle and through the Creator’s Guard, a group of knights that saluted each winner!

Two groups competed: High School and Middle School students. The Top High School Inventor was Joey DeMario of Burgettstown. The Middle School winners were Lucas Swartz, Bailey Jones and Hunter Voithofer from Carmichaels.

We didn’t stop there! There were plenty of other winners in numerous categories. The other High School winners included:

Best Pitch: Fort Cherry High School (Gavin Ehrgood, Joshua Wilhoit, Joshua Borovich)

Colonial (Amerika Cragette)

Best Package Design: John Marshall High School (Lori Johnson)

Best Logo: East Franklin High School (Logan Cox)

Best Concept Model: Clark High School (Dylan Arroyo , Jonathan Gray)

Best Manufacturable Design: Cannon McMillian High School (Alex Vavin)

And the Middle School winners included:

Best Concept Model: Fort Cherry Elementary Center (Sydni Celani, Dravyn Halyak, Dylan Leonard)

Best Prototype: Washington Jr. High (Alexandra Berumen)

Best Manufacturable Design: Avonworth (Joshua Perry, Roman Simkins)

Best Video: Avonworth (Cooper Groll, Aaron Fresh)

Thank you to all the schools, administrators and judges that made this event so unforgettable. We look forward to hosting the event next year as well!